DWI Penalties

DWI Penalties in Arkansas

We have handled hundreds of DWI cases all across the State of Arkansas. A DWI conviction can have long term detrimental effects on your driving record, insurance, and employment. 

A first, second, or third offense for DWI is a misdemeanor conviction but it is a serious offense. You can receive a substantial fine, jail time and the conviction may stay on your record permanently. A fourth or subsequent conviction for DWI is a felony conviction and may result in a sentence to the Arkansas Department of Correction.

You deserve highly experienced, hard working and innovative attorneys to represent you in your case, contact Files & Brasuell for a Free Consultation – 501-374-0616.

Range of Punishment for DWI Convictions in Arkansas:

DWI 1st Offense: 1 day-1 year in the county jail, $150-$1,000 fine, 7 days- 1 year in the county jail if you have a passenger in the car that is sixteen (16) years of age or younger.

DWI 2nd Offense: 7 days-1 year in the county jail, $400-$3,000 fine, 30 days-1 year in the county jail if you have a passenger in the car that is sixteen (16) years of age or younger. The Court may order community service in lieu of jail but for no less than thirty (30) days.

DWI 3rd Offense: 90 days-1 year in the county jail, $900-$5,000 fine, 120 days-1 year in the county jail if you have a passenger in the car that is sixteen (16) years of age or younger. The Court may order community service in lieu of jail but for no less than ninety (90) days.

DWI 4th Offense: 1-6 years in the Arkansas Department of Correction, $900-$5,000 fine, 2-6 years in the Arkansas Department of Correction if you have a passenger in the car that is sixteen (16) years of age or younger. The Court may order community service in lieu of pen time but for no less than one (1) year.

DWI 5th or Greater Offense: 2-10 years in the Arkansas Department of Correction, $900-$5,000 fine, 2-6 years in the Arkansas Department of Correction if you have a passenger in the car that is sixteen (16) years of age or younger. The Court may order community service in lieu of pen time but for no less than one (1) year.

Driver’s License Suspension:

Upon arrest for suspicion of driving while intoxicated, your driver’s license will be suspended immediately.

DWI First Offense: Immediate six (6) month driver’s license suspension. You qualify for a thirty (30) day driving permit that will expire thirty (30) days from the date of arrest. You qualify for an interlock ignition device. You do not qualify for a restricted permit.

DWI Second Offense: Immediate two (2) year driver’s license suspension. You do not qualify for a thirty (30) day driving permit. You qualify for an interlock ignition device but only after forty-five (45) days from the date of arrest. You do not qualify for a restricted permit.

DWI Third Offense: Immediate thirty (30) month driver’s license suspension. You do not qualify for a thirty (30) day driving permit. You qualify for an interlock ignition device but only after forty-five (45) days from the date of arrest. You do not qualify for a restricted permit.

DWI Fourth Offense: Immediate forty-eight (48) month driver’s license suspension. You do not qualify for a thirty (30) day driving permit. The State of Arkansas will require an interlock ignition device be placed on your car. You do not qualify for a restricted permit.


Please contact us for a free consultation or call direct: 501-374-0616